St Mary's Church Charlbury with Shorthampton

About Us


St Mary’s is a lively, supportive and engaging Christian community, made up of all ages and inviting every type of person to join with us to discover more about God’s love for all people.
Whoever you are and wherever you are, we welcome you to our website and hope to see you soon at St Mary’s Charlbury or All Saints Shorthampton.
Both churches are open during daylight hours and offer a quiet place to reflect, rest and pray.  If you’d like to get more involved with any aspect of the life and work of the church, or if you simply want to find out more, please look around our website and contact us.

Vicar - Revd Dr Sally Welch 01608 811371
Vicar – Revd Dr Sally Welch
Telephone – 07974439630

Associate Priest – Revd Jan Fielden
Telephone – 07986 606548

Assistant Curate – Revd Tish Bird
Telephone – 07981621859

Churchwarden Dine Glasgow - 01608 810161
Churchwarden – Dine Glasgow
Telephone – 01608 810161

Churchwarden – Paddy Gallagher
Telephone – 01608 811568

Parish Office Hours:  Monday 9-2pm and Friday 9-2pm and varying other hours during the week.
The following people may be contacted through the Parish Office (01608 810230) or by clicking here

Vicar: Revd Dr Sally Welch
Associate Priest: Revd Jan Fielden
Church Wardens: Dine Glasgow, Paddy Gallagher
Hon. Treasurer: Andy Bird
Hon. Secretary: Mary Heckman
Deanery Synod until 2020: Michael Waring, Roy Scott, Paddy Gallagher

PCC until 2019: Rachel Gallagher, Adam Leach, Louise Whitehead, Sarah Witheridge

PCC until 2020: Amanda Cooper, Ann Davidson, Daniela Jenkins, Kris Silvester

PCC until 2021:Andy Bird, Rosalind Scott, Marie-Reine Staton, Mike Summers

Safe Guarding Officer – Catherine Goyder
PCC Safe guarding rep – Rachel Gallagher
Hon. Asst Priests:
Revd Michael Williams, Revd Elizabeth Koepping
Sacristans:  Leah Fowler, Mary Heckman, Liz Tait, Janet Barnett, Jenny Welsh, Ros Roberts, Christine Johnson, Simon Handley
Verger: Janet Barnett
Organist: Richard Fairhurst
: Denise Summers
Electoral Roll: Parish Administrator
Sunday Club: Christine Pearce
Bells and Clock: Mike Summers
Flowers: Sarah Witheridge
Website: Maureen Sparling
JAM: David Nicholls
Friends of Shorthampton: Amanda Cooper, Sarah Potter
Churches Together:
‘The Leaflet’ editor: Parish Administrator
Leaflet Distribution: Leah & Derek Fowler, Liz Walton